Life + Love

Life Update 06.27.17

Hey guys! Holy moley, it’s been awhile since I sat down and wrote to you. Well, at least a month. This isn’t about food, plants, or animals. But I thought it might be nice to tell you what I’ve been up to. This also helps me kind of process where my life’s at right now.

I’ve been doing some writing on the side for a website called The Mindfulness Mission. A group of us vegan bloggers all contribute to the site and we cover a wide range of topics. From food to fitness, even covering meditation and relationship advice. I’ve been working on pieces for the site since about February or March. It’s been such a big learning experience for me as it’s been my first time writing for someone else’s site as well as my first time sending my writing in to an editor. It’s also been a great way to meet more vegans in the blogging/Instagram community. Overall I’d say I’m thankful for the experience and I’ll be continuing to write for TMM for awhile. Check out our pieces at themindfulnessmission.wordpress.com

The weekend of June 2nd, Joseph and I went on a weekend retreat with his group at the university he was attending. We went to a super pretty (and kinda slimey) lake. There was a fire pit, good food, and cool company (including three pups). Of course I was too nervous to actually get fully in the water, but I put my feet in and did yoga on the dock. I also did yoga on the beach.

Fast forward like, a day after we get back to moving day! I moved in with Joseph officially (before this day I already basically lived with him anyways), and we moved 2-3 hours away from our friends and family. Well, kind of. We moved to his hometown so a bunch of his friends are here. It’s so fun (and also scary) to experience a new place and get away from the familiar for awhile. We’ve been here almost a month and I’m still not quite settled in. All in due time, right?

Screenshot_6

I’ve spent most of this month at the new place reading books and making watercolor paintings, so last week I went camping with Joseph’s friends. There was not very much vegan food, sadly. So I survived on Boca original vegan burgers and peanut butter sandwiches. Luckily I had packed little bags of broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots otherwise I likely would have gone crazy from lack of good veggies! The lake was great and I, once again, did yoga on the dock. Apparently lakeside yoga is my new thing. On Saturday night there was a camp-wide party. It was meant for socializing with other campers, but I just watched everyone dance which was also quite entertaining. It was a very exhausting few days though and as I type this I am just so relieved to be home and in my own bed.

I’m hoping to be able to get back into regular blogging now that things are settling down a bit. If there’s anything you would like to read more between recipes or cruelty free beauty reviews, I’d love to know! I love hearing feedback from my readers. 🙂

Until next time,

Sarrah, The Vegan Scarecrow

Leave a Reply

